DENK MAL AM ORT

7. / 8. Mai 2016

KÄTHE LOEWENTHAL

Exhibition, Film, Reading and Discussion

On view from November 14, 2015 to January 14, 2016 The exhibition features 35 rescued works of painter Käthe Loewenthal.

The Jewish painter Käthe Loewenthal was born in Berlin in 1877 and grew up in Geneva, Lausanne, Paris, Berlin, Bern, and Argentina. Having completed a wide range of artistic studies begun in 1895, she worked as an artist from 1914 until her death, earning her living by painting portraits. In 1933 she was banned from painting and exhibiting. Forced in 1941 to live in a so-called Jewish house, she was placed in a collection point in Weißenstein in 1942. From there she was deported to the Izbica transit camp near Lublin in Poland, where she was murdered.

SCREENING | Saturday | November 14 | 6 pm
The film Käthe Löwenthal (1877-1942) produced by the Verein Lebenswerk Käthe Loewenthal e.V. will be shown. A public discussion will be held after the film in the company of Professor Wolf Ritscher, who never had the opportunity of meeting his great aunt, Käthe Loewenthal, personally. The discussion will be presented by Jani Pietsch.

READING | Sunday | November 15 | 5 pm
Author Jani Pietsch will read the chapter Karriere geht vor (career has priority) from her book Ich besaß einen Garten in Schöneiche bei Berlin. Das verwaltete Verschwinden jüdischer Nachbarn und ihre schwierige Rückkehr. The chapter deals with the divorce of Susanne Ritscher, née Loewenthal, and her non-Jewish husband in the interests of his career. Marie Rolshoven will present the discussion following the reading, a conversation between Jani Pietsch and Wolf Ritscher, Susanne Ritscher-Loewenthal’s grandson.

REGISTRATION: jani.pietsch@gmail.com
Admission to all events is free!

VENUE: Atelier Merseburger Str. 12 10823 Berlin
U7 | Eisenacherstrasse
S1 | Julius-Leber-Brücke

These events are the result of cooperation between Bildungswerk Berlin der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung and KUBIN and are funded by the Stiftung Klassenlotterie Berlin.

Schöneberger Art 2015

Gallery & Open Artists Studios Event

Saturday | November 7 | 2-8 pm and Sunday | November 8 | 12 am - 6 pm

TWO INSTALLATIONS BY JANI PIETSCH, MARIE ROLSHOVEN + FLORIAN VOSS

An exhibition addresses the fatalities that occurred at the German-German border. Marie Rolshoven and Florian Voß’s light installation focuses on victims of the Berlin Wall.

The past is linked here to the tragic circumstances of today’s refugees at the borders of Europe. Pope Francis calls it the globalization of indifference. We are the travellers of permanent transit, say the refugees.

Jani Pietsch explored the fence between Morocco and the Spanish Exclave Melilla on foot and by bicycle. Her collage of video and sound recordings translocates Europe’s most southern border to the centre of Europe. www.schoeneberger-art.de

Contact

Jani Pietsch
Merseburger Str. 12
D-10823 Berlin
jani.pietsch@gmail.com


C O P Y R I G H T + D I S C L A I M E R

All images and texts included in this Web site are copyright protected. They may not be reproduced in any form without prior permission from Jani Pietsch. Jani Pietsch endeavours to keep the contents accurate and up to date. Please forgive any errors. All links are provided in good faith, but Jani Pietsch has no influence on the contents of external Web sites and accepts no liability for their contents.

Translation German–English: Richard Holmes, Sunniva Greve

Grafik: Aleksandra Kujawska, www.dotindrop.de

Jani Pietsch
DE EN

DENK MAL AM ORT

7. / 8. Mai 2016

KÄTHE LOEWENTHAL

Ausstellung, Filmvorführung, Lesung und Diskussion

Ausstellung 14. November 2015 - 14. Januar 2016 Wir zeigen 35 Werke aus dem geretteten Nachlass der Malerin Käthe Loewenthal.

Die jüdische Malerin Käthe Loewenthal wurde 1877 in Berlin geboren und wuchs in verschiedenen Städten wie Genf, Lausanne, Paris, Belgrano, Berlin und Bernauf. Nach der Beendigung vieler verschiedener künstlerischer Studien von 1895 arbeitete sie seit 1914 bis zu ihrem Tod als freie Künstlerin, wobei sie ihren Lebensunterhalt mit dem Malen von Porträts sicherte. 1933 erhielt sie bereits ein Mal- und Ausstellungsverbot und musste 1941 in eine sogenannte Judenwohnung umziehen, bis sie 1942 in ein Sammellager in Weißenstein deportiert wurde. Von diesem Sammellager aus wurde sie nach Polen in das Durchgangslager Izbica bei Lublin deportiert und ermordet.

Filmvorführung: Sa, 14. November 2015, 18 Uhr
Es wird der Film Käthe Loewenthal (1877-1942), realisiert vom Verein Lebenswerk Käthe Loewenthal e.V. gezeigt. Im Anschluss an den Film gibt es ein Publikumsgespräch mit Professor Wolf Ritscher, der seine Großtante nicht mehr persönlich kennenlernen konnte. Moderiert wird das Gespräch von Jani Pietsch.

Lesung: So, 15. November 2015, 17 Uhr
Jani Pietsch liest das Kapitel Karriere geht vor aus ihrer Publikation Ich besass einen Garten in Schöneiche bei Berlin. Das verwaltete Verschwinden jüdischer Nachbarn und ihre schwierige Rückkehr.Das Kapitel beschäftigt sich mit der Scheidung des nichtjüdischen Ehemanns von Susanne Ritscher geb. Loewenthal aufgrund der Gefährdung seiner Karriere. Im Anschluss moderiert Marie Rolshoven ein Gespräch zwischen der Autorin Jani Pietsch und Wolf Ritscher, dem Enkelsohn von Susanne Ritscher.

Anmeldung unter: jani.pietsch@gmail.com
Der Eintritt zu allen Veranstaltungen ist frei!
Ort Atelier Merseburger Str. 12 10823 Berlin

Die Veranstaltungen sind eine Kooperation des Bildungswerks Berlin der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung mit dem Verbund KUBIN. Die Veranstaltung wird realisiert mit Mitteln der Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin.

schöneberger art 2015

Galerierundgang und offene Ateliers

Sonnabend, 7. November, 14:00 - 20:00 Uhr Sonntag, 8. November, 12:00 - 18:00 Uhr
Im Atelier von Jani Pietsch thematisieren zwei Installationen die ehemalige deutsch-deutsche Grenze und die tragische Situation der heutigen Flüchtlinge an der südlichsten EU-Grenze.

Marie Rolshoven und Florian Voß erinnern mit einer Videoinstallation an die 136 Todesopfer an der Berliner Mauer.

Jani Pietsch hat den Grenzzaun zwischen Marokko und der spanischen Exklave Melilla zu Fuss und mit dem Rad abgefahren und ihr heimlich aufgenommenes Video mit einem vielsprachigen Stimmenteppich unterlegt.

www.schoeneberger-art.de

Kontakt

Jani Pietsch
Merseburger Str. 12
D-10823 Berlin
jani.pietsch@gmail.com


I M P R E S S U M
Jani Pietsch ist um die ständige Aktualität und Richtigkeit ihrer Inhalte bemüht. Bei etwaigen Fehlern wird gebeten, ein Auge zuzudrücken. Auf die Inhalte aller externen Links hat Jani Pietsch keinen Einfluss und schließt daher jede Haftung für den Inhalt dieser Webseiten aus.
Alle Bilder und Texte der Internetseite unterliegen dem Urheberrecht.
Übersetzung: Richard Holmes, Sunniva Greve

Grafik: Aleksandra Kujawska, www.dotindrop.de